blog · children · mum · parent · Uncategorized

Time to see clearly

It’s been some time since I wrote a blog post, apart from the fun and games of Christmas, I’ve been offline getting surgery! And before you wonder…nope, not boobs (not sure surgery could save those forlorn puppies), but eye surgery so I no longer need to wear glasses.

I have worn glasses since I was 8 years old. That’s 25 years of smeared lenses, lost contacts, broken frames, prescription sunglasses and a helluva lot of knocked over glasses of water in the middle of the night.

I am not for one minute saying that being short sighted is in anyway a disability but it does come with an extreme amount of frustration that non specs wearers cannot possibly begin to understand.

FullSizeRender

So when I’ve mentioned that I was getting eye surgery to friends, many responses have been ‘but you look good in glasses’. It’s sweet of them to say that, but this surgery has never been about looks. I am not a vain person, I barely remember to wear make up, specs don’t bother me. 

I had my eyes fixed because – 

  • When it rains I walk with a bowed head, so as not to get wet lenses and be unable to see. I don’t stride forwards with confidence, I walk, head down.
  • I have never jumped into a pool with my children
  • Or been able to be splashed in the face when swimming with them (many lenses lost to the pool in that way)
  • I have burned my arms more times than I can remember because my glasses have steamed up when I opened the oven door
  • Every time I blow raspberries on my kids bellies, or give butterfly kisses I have to take my glasses off so as not to hurt them 

There are many more day to day tiny moments which together have added up to this decision and every day I wake up with my ‘new eyes’ I appreciate each and every one.

I appreciate that surgery is a very drastic decision to take, and I know it’s not for everyone but it has changed my life and I will never take it granted.

Much Snotty love xx

PS I know I’m lucky to live in the Western world where I can have this surgery, for people in other parts of the world who have to cope with blindness, things aren’t so straightforward. That’s why I plan on giving Sightsavers the money I would have spent on my contact lenses each month. For just £3 a month they can give a child sight. Well worth it I reckon.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Time to see clearly

  1. Good for you! I’ve had glasses since I was about 8 and then entered the world of contacts. Now that I’ve developed allergies in my eyes I’m seriously considering the surgery.

Leave a Reply

