blog · children · lifestyle · mum · parent

Daddy’s girl *guest blog*

 

Written by Alexia Rowley (Roots and Wings Parenting)

When my 2 year old daughter announced for the 5th time this morning “NOT MUMMY! Daddy do it” I finally gave up and let the man of the hour step in. Feeling a sense of crushing rejection. Why will I do on a daily basis when I am home with her, but the weekends she ditches me quicker than a teenager does to last week’s boy band?

Daddys girl

I hope I am not the only mum experiencing this. I fear that the attachment I have worked hard to build and nurture, is completely broken at the weekends. I honestly don’t think my daughter would notice if I moved out for those 2 days. Yet she would notice if daddy even goes to the bathroom without her. Everything I read tells me not to take this personally, which I find is easier said than done. I know it’s ridiculous but I honestly do feel very hurt.

So I have decided to think of all the positives this situation brings.

  • I can go to the bathroom alone, something that 5 days a week is completely impossible.
  • I can pop to the local shops and won’t be missed. Just a shame I don’t have an endless balance on my credit card.
  • I can eat all the chocolate I like and don’t have to hide or share it, as she is following daddy into the other room.
  • I can read a book.
  • I can speak on the phone to friends without interruption.

Of course none of the above is at all possible as I have my baby son who fortunately/ unfortunately (depending on my mood) does still want his mummy, but it is good to dream. And I’m sure one day the tables will turn again, won’t they?

 

One thought on “Daddy’s girl *guest blog*

Leave a Reply

